WU19 EURO qualifying: road to Switzerland

The last of UEFA’s annual national-team tournaments to finish in 2016/17 will become the first to start in 2017/18 when the Women’s U19 EURO qualifying round begins on Friday just 19 days after Spain lifted the trophy in Belfast.

How the competition works

  • Of the record entry of 49, all teams are involved in the qualifying round except hosts Switzerland, who have a bye to the finals in July.
  • The 48 teams are split into 12 groups, all played as one-venue mini-tournaments to be completed by 31 October (with Spain starting their campaign in that last section in Albania).
  • Kosovo make their competition debut on Tuesday when they face record six-time champions Germany in Iceland.
  • The top two in each qualifying round group progress to the elite round, drawn in November and played in April or June.
  • The elite round will consist of six four-team groups; the section winners and the runners-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their pool join Switzerland in the finals.

The groups: fixtures

See how Spain won the 2017 final

See how Spain won the 2017 final

Group 1 (12–18 September): Germany, Iceland*, Montenegro, Kosovo

Group 2 (18–24 October): England, Slovenia, Wales, Kazakhstan*

Group 3 (8–14 September): Denmark, Romania, Slovakia, Lithuania*

Group 4 (25–31 October): Spain (holders), Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Albania*

Group 5 (16–22 October): Norway, Portugal*, Northern Ireland, Cyprus

Group 6 (18–24 October): Netherlands*, Republic of Ireland, Estonia, Latvia

Group 7 (16–22 October): France, Italy, Moldova*, Faroe Islands

Group 8 (17–23 October): Belgium, Austria*, Croatia, FYR Macedonia

Group 9 (18–24 October): Sweden, Czech Republic, Belarus, Bulgaria*

Group 10 (18–24 October): Scotland, Turkey, Hungary*, Armenia

Group 11 (12–18 September): Finland*, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel

Group 12 (12–18 September): Russia, Poland, Greece, Georgia*


The dates

Elite round draw (Nyon): 24 November
Elite round: 210 April 412 June
Finals draw (Switzerland): tbc June
Final tournament (Switzerland): 1830 July

  • Switzerland will become the first nation to stage the eight-team final tournament more than once – it was the venue for Germany’s 2006 triumph.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Article source: http://www.uefa.com/womensunder19/news/newsid=2497282.html?rss=2497282+WU19+EURO+qualifying:+road+to+Switzerland

Tagged with:

livesportchannels.com provides all the info that matters to sports betting fans and variety of legal betting sites to choose. Including previews, match reports, previous meetings and other great stories to help with your betting , odd comparison. We give you betting offers and Live Betting offers, from our official legal betting partners, on all the major sports including Football, Tennis, Cricket, Golf, Horse Racing, Greyhound Racing, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Snooker and much more. THIS WEBSITE IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT AND INFORMATIVE PURPOSES ONLY. WE DO NOT ACCEPT ANY WAGERING, BETTING, GAMING OR GAMBLING IN ANY FORM OR MANNER. 18+ Responsible Betting |Gambling Therapy | Protecting Minors | GamCare | Privacy Policy | Personal Data Request