All you need to know: UEFA Nations League Finals

What is it?

The inaugural UEFA Nations League Finals is a knockout tournament that takes place in June 2019, involving the four group winners of the top-ranked League A: Portugal (who will host the event) and three other teams confirmed on Sunday and Monday.

Who plays who?

The draw takes place in Dublin at 14:30CET on Monday 3 December. Times and venues are to be confirmed.

5 June: Semi-final 1
6 June: Semi-final 2
9 June: Third-place play-off
9 June: Final

Where are the Finals?

Estádio do Dragão

Estádio do Dragão©Getty Images

Portugal, with Porto’s Estádio do Dragão and the Estádio D. Afonso Henriques in Guimaraes proposed as host venues. Italy, Poland and Portugal all expressed interest in hosting the inaugural finals before the deadline in March 2018. As they were all in Group A3, the winner of that section was always in line to host.

What is the finals format?

The semi-final winners advance to the final; defeated teams contest a third-place play-off. If the scores are level at the end of normal time then there is extra time, when teams are permitted a fourth substitution. If the scores are still level after the additional 30 minutes, it goes to a penalty shoot-out. Goal-line technology will be utilised throughout.

What does the winner get?

The story behind the trophy

The story behind the trophy

First and foremost this fetching 71cm-tall sterling silver trophy. The prize money on offer is as follows:

€7.5m Winners
€6.5m Runners-up
€5.5m Third place
€4.5m Fourth place

The figures include the €3m all four finalists have already secured, made up of a €1.5m solidarity fee for all League A teams and €1.5m as a bonus for winning a League A group. A total of €76.25m in solidarity and bonus fees was earmarked for the 55 competing national associations.

Is this linked to UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying?

Not really. The last four UEFA EURO 2020 places go to the winners of mini-tournament between the top four-ranked teams in each of the four UEFA Nations League groupings (A–D), but this is separate to the UEFA Nations League Finals. The only bearing these Finals have on qualifying is that the four contenders will be placed in five-team groups rather than six.

Article source:

Tagged with: provides all the info that matters to sports betting fans and variety of legal betting sites to choose. Including previews, match reports, previous meetings and other great stories to help with your betting , odd comparison. We give you betting offers and Live Betting offers, from our official legal betting partners, on all the major sports including Football, Tennis, Cricket, Golf, Horse Racing, Greyhound Racing, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Snooker and much more. THIS WEBSITE IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT AND INFORMATIVE PURPOSES ONLY. WE DO NOT ACCEPT ANY WAGERING, BETTING, GAMING OR GAMBLING IN ANY FORM OR MANNER. 18+ Responsible Betting |Gambling Therapy | Protecting Minors | GamCare | Privacy Policy | Personal Data Request