Argentina beat Russia in Futsal World Cup final

Argentina won the FIFA Futsal World Cup for the first time with a 5-4 defeat of Russia in Cali, Colombia.

Beaten in the World Cup semis of 1996, 2000 and 2008, Russia got the better of Iran this time around to set up their showdown with fellow first-time finalists Argentina, who had already beaten European opposition in Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Portugal.

Having lost the last three UEFA Futsal EURO finals, 1999 continental champions Russia were hoping for better on the global stage, and led through Eder Lima in the 16th minute. But Argentina were level within 26 seconds and took the lead just before half-time when Pescara’s Leandro Cuzzolino converted a ten-metre penalty.

Eder Lima, the 2012 top scorer, equalised in the 22nd minute but within 75 seconds Alan Brandi of Benfica had scored twice. As Russia chased the game late on Constantino Vaporaki, whose brother Alamiro had got Argentina’s equaliser, scored from inside his own half, though Dmitri Lyskov pulled one back and Eder Lima completed the first Futsal World Cup final hat-trick with a ten metre penalty, but that was with 15 seconds left.

In the quarter-finals Russia had avenged their UEFA Futsal EURO 2016 final defeat by Spain while Iran had knocked out holders Brazil. Spain and Brazil between them had on all six previous editions and Italy, the United States and the Netherlands were the only other previous finalists.

Portugal were beaten 4-3 on penalties against Iran in the third-place play-off having seen a 2-0 lead wiped out in the 40 minutes while Spain and Azerbaijan fell in the quarter-finals and Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Italy in the round of 16. Ricardinho of Portugal was top scorer on 12 goals, two ahead of Falcão, playing in his fifth and final World Cup for Brazil. Argentina captain Wilhelm of Benfica was named best player.

  • How the knockout phase went

©Getty Images

Russia celebrate beating Spain in the quarter-finals

Round of 16:
Russia 7-0 Vietnam, Medellin
Colombia 0-0 (2-3pens) Paraguay, Cali
Brazil 4-4 (2-3pens) Iran, Bucaramanga
Spain 5-2 Kazakhstan, Medellin
Portugal 4-0 Costa Rica, Cali
Argentina 1-0 (aet) Ukraine, Bucaramanga
Thailand 8-13 (aet) Azerbaijan, Medellin
Italy 3-4 (aet) v Egypt, Cali

Paraguay 3-4 (aet) Iran, Bucaramanga
Russia 6-2 Spain, Cali
Argentina 5-0 Egypt, Medellin
Portugal 3-2 Azerbaijan, Cali

Ricardinho’s EURO stunner

Iran 3-4 Russia, Medellin
Argentina 5-2 Portugal, Cali

Third-place play-off:
Iran 2-2 (4-3pens) Portugal, Cali

Russia 4-5 Argentina, Cali

Top scorer: Ricardinho (Portugal) 12

  • World Cup roll of honour

2016: Argentina 5-4 Russia (hosts: Colombia)
2012: Brazil 3-2 aet Spain (Thailand)
2008: Brazil 2-2, 4-3 pens Spain (Brazil)
2004: Spain 2-1 Italy (Chinese Taipei)
2000: Spain 4-3 Brazil (Guatemala)
1996: Brazil 6-4 Spain (Spain)
1992: Brazil 4-1 United States (Hong Kong)
1989: Brazil 2-1 Netherlands (Netherlands)

Tagged with: provides all the info that matters to sports betting fans and variety of legal betting sites to choose. Including previews, match reports, previous meetings and other great stories to help with your betting , odd comparison. We give you betting offers and Live Betting offers, from our official legal betting partners, on all the major sports including Football, Tennis, Cricket, Golf, Horse Racing, Greyhound Racing, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Snooker and much more. THIS WEBSITE IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT AND INFORMATIVE PURPOSES ONLY. WE DO NOT ACCEPT ANY WAGERING, BETTING, GAMING OR GAMBLING IN ANY FORM OR MANNER. 18+ Responsible Betting |Gambling Therapy | Protecting Minors | GamCare | Privacy Policy | Personal Data Request