***Who scored your club’s first Champions League goal?

You always remember your first … or do you?

Hoffenheim make their debut in the UEFA Champions League stage next week, but who will have the honour of scoring that historic first goal? And how long will the Bundesliga side’s fans have to wait?

Over the past 26 years, 137 clubs have registered in the group stage. Some didn’t have to wait long (it took 38 seconds for Andreas Möller to get Dortmund up and running); some did (there were four minutes of Galatasaray’s maiden group stage left when they finally got off the mark).

There have been own goals and penalties; goals scored by likely suspects and strikes decidedly left of left field (Cihat Arslan, anyone?). There have been tap-ins and there have been goals truly fitting of the occasion – step forward George Weah!

First group stage goals

Michael Owen gets Liverpool off the mark

Michael Owen gets Liverpool off the mark©Getty Images

Atlético – Juan Esnáider v Steaua, 1996 (33 minutes)
Barcelona – Txiki Begiristain v Monaco, 1993 (16 minutes)
Bayern – Mehmet Scholl v Dynamo Kyiv, 1994 (99 minutes)
Club Brugge – Daniel Amokachi v CSKA Moskva, 1992 (17 minutes)
CSKA Moskva – Ilshat Fayzulin v Marseille (235 minutes)
Dortmund – Andreas Möller v Juventus, 1995 (38 seconds!)
Galatasaray – Cihat Arslan v Spartak Moskva, 1994 (536 minutes)
Hoffenheim – N/A
Inter Milan – Youri Djorkaeff v Sturm Graz, 1998 (180 minutes)
Juventus – Michele Padovano v Dortmund, 1995 (12 minutes)
Liverpool – Michael Owen v Boavista, 2001 (29 minutes)
Lokomotiv Moskva – Vladimir Maminov v Anderlecht, 2001 (18 minutes)
Lyon – Sonny Anderson v Heerenveen, 2000 (2 minutes)

Man. City and Napoli make their bow

Man. City and Napoli make their bow

Manchester City – Aleksandar Kolarov v Napoli, 2011 (74 minutes)
Manchester United – Ryan Giggs v IFK Göteborg, 1994 (33 minutes)
Monaco – Jürgen Klinsmann v Spartak Moskva, 1993 (17 minutes)
Napoli – Edinson Cavani v Man. City, 2011 (69 minutes)
Paris Saint-Germain – George Weah v Bayern, 1994 (41 minutes)
Plzeň – Marek Bakoš v BATE Borisov, 2011 (45+1 minutes)
Porto – Magalhães v PSV Eindhoven, 1992 (35 minutes)
Real Madrid – Iván Zamorano v Grasshoppers, 1995 (159 minutes)
Roma – Francesco Totti pen v Real Madrid, 2001 (73 minutes)
Schalke – Marco van Hoogdalem v Arsenal, 2001 (133 minutes)
Shakhtar – Aleksei Bakharev v Arsenal, 2000 (116 minutes)
Tottenham – Petri Pasanen og v Bremen, 2010 (12 minutes)
Valencia – Kily González v Rangers, 1999 (57 minutes)

Tagged with:

livesportchannels.com provides all the info that matters to sports betting fans and variety of legal betting sites to choose. Including previews, match reports, previous meetings and other great stories to help with your betting , odd comparison. We give you betting offers and Live Betting offers, from our official legal betting partners, on all the major sports including Football, Tennis, Cricket, Golf, Horse Racing, Greyhound Racing, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Snooker and much more. THIS WEBSITE IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT AND INFORMATIVE PURPOSES ONLY. WE DO NOT ACCEPT ANY WAGERING, BETTING, GAMING OR GAMBLING IN ANY FORM OR MANNER. 18+ Responsible Betting |Gambling Therapy | Protecting Minors | GamCare | Privacy Policy | Personal Data Request